5:00 a.m…

Have you ever woken up in the middle of the night and rolled over just to check and see how much longer you have before your alarm goes off? You see that it’s only 4:45 a.m. and you feel a wave of satisfaction and relief because you still have almost three hours left to sleep. Well seeing 4:45 on the clock when your alarm is set for 5:00 is maddening. In an annoyed fit you roll back over and close your eyes for half a second before hearing the “sencha” ringtone calling you awake again. This is life as a thrower with 6:00 a.m. weights.

After a semester of this I’ve got my morning routine down pat… or so I’d like to think. I wake up make a bowl of oatmeal and force myself to chug some water. Get dressed, pack my lifting shoes then eat the oatmeal since it’s had a few minutes to cool. Brush my teeth, put on a sweatshirt, and head to the kitchen to fill up my gatorade bottle. This is where I find two of my roommates going through the same routine.

As we head out of the apartment at 5:40 it hits me that it’s a squat day and I don’t have my lifting belt and have to run back in to get it, which is one of the many reasons we leave as early as we do given that it’s only a 5 minute walk to the weight room. As soon as we walk into the weight room we are instantly greeted by some of the strength coaches, who undoubtedly have a way of waking you up before you start with 6 o’clock weights.

From there we go through our day as normal. We go to classes and practice and spend some time in the training room with Aaron. We fit our studying in in the evening and head to bed around 10:00 knowing good and well that 5:00 a.m. will hit even harder if we stay up much later.

The next morning I wake up in a panic at 5:15. Thinking that I overslept I realize that it’s Wednesday and I have 2 more hours to sleep. I roll over with that same wave of satisfaction and relief… but also a little bit of annoyance that my body thinks it should be waking up so early.

While this may seem like I’m really complaining I actually enjoy getting my day started early. Having structure to my morning and getting something so productive done before 7:00 a.m. is gratifying. I’ve come to like starting my days with music blaring in a room full of power racks and throwers.

Leave a Reply

